Food & Beverages That Contain Red Dye 40

Share this post:

Whenever you buy a food item, look at the ingredients, you may be surprised to see how many lists contain red dye 40. This ingredient is not only present in the food; however, it is also present in some of the prominent beverages.

Red dye 40 is an artificial food coloring that is in many food items and beverages, especially in highly processed foods.

Other names on the labels of this ingredient include:
  • Red 40
  • Red #40
  • Allura Red Ac

Some food manufacturers sometimes use natural food dyes, especially because many people avoid artificial colors. Even though both types of food dyes give, well an appealing look, however, artificial food dyes come of coal or petroleum.

Whereas natural food dyes come from plant and animal sources, however, some vegetarians and many vegans avoid the food with plant-based or artificial coloring. Even though the usage of red dye 40 is considered safe for vegans, however, it may not be suitable for those environmental vegans who are trying to avoid coal and petroleum-based products.

List of food with red dye 40

Drinks and food containing red dye 40 includes all types of processed foods such as:

  • Candy
  • Snack
  • Soda juice
  • Salad dressing
  • Toothpaste
  • Mouthwash
  • Baked goods
  • And so forth

Food and Drug Administration (FDA) accepts red dye 40 only in specific sets of food and drinks such as:

  • Cereals
  • Confections
  • Gelatin
  • Dairy Products
  • Drinks

Even though the FDA has allowed some food to have red dye 40, however, the organization does not standardize how much artificial food coloring can be in the products.

Reasons to avoid Red Dye 40

One of the main reasons to avoid as it causes mild to severe allergic reactions in some people. Red dye 40 allergies may seem small or you might ignore it initially, however, ignorance can lead to serious health problems.

Symptoms of red dye 40 allergies are:

  • Swelling of the face
  • Tightness in the chest
  • Difficulty breathing
  • Dizziness or fainting
  • Fast heartbeat
  • Low blood pressure
  • Tightness in your throat
  • Trouble breathing

Many doctors prefer to avoid the usage of red dye 40 for some people and as an alternative suggestion to them, doctors refer to some natural vegetables. Even though red dye 40 is said to be vegan, however, it causes some health risks. One of the main health issues that can cause by the excessive intake of red dye 40 is the increase of cancerous cells in the body. Therefore, try to limit the consumption of red dye 40 in your day-to-day life.

Some of the major red dye 40 side effects are:

  • Hyperactivity
  • Learning impairment
  • Aggressiveness
  • Irritability

According to a study, food coloring often contains carcinogens, which causes hypersensitivity. Moreover, excessive consumption of red dye 40 in children is very dangerous and it severely affects the children’s health.

Therefore, to maintain the health of your body as well as the immune system, increase the consumption of green vegetables and homemade juices. Exercise daily and maintain a habit of drinking a glass of vegetable juice twice a week.

Share this post:

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.